Eight states of US to end unemployment benefits for more than 4Lakh people this weekend

Unemployment benefits
Unemployment benefits

Eight states are opting out of federal unemployment benefit programs on Saturday. Alabama, Idaho, Indiana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Dakota, West Virginia and Wyoming.

About 4 lakh 17 thousand people will lose a $300 weekly supplement and other benefits. fraudulent claims criminals may have stolen half of the unemployment benefits the U.S. has been pumping out over the past year, with the bulk likely ending up in the hands of foreign crime syndicates.

25 Republican-led states are ending their participation early. Most are cutting off all benefits, but some are only ending the weekly payment.

They’re among 25 states turning down federal funds ahead of their official expiration on Sept. 6, which will affect about 4 million total recipients.

Florida has changed some rules of the Reemployment Assistance program. Benefits are now available to self-employed workers and independent contractors.